Motivations to read

April 4, 2011

Star Trek Voyager:Mosiac

This post attempts to share my feelings when I got my hands on my first Star Trek book.

Admittedly, I am a Star Trek fanboy especially of the Original series till as long as I remember. The first remembrance I have of the series was when I was a 10-year-old and Sunday at around 10:00 hours for one hour I was locked in Star Trek’s fictional Universe or better put fictional Enterprise (the Universe is real enough, alright!). I’m sure the series was lapped up when it started in the 70’s because the idea of we, humans being not alone in the Universe has been romanticized in all our history.

Cut to 2011 and one 35-year-old kid browses a seconds book shop looking for a book to read when he spots a hard-bound Star Trek Voyager book called Mosaic written by somebody named ‘Jeri Taylor‘ . I have to admit I was in two minds whether it would turn out good or not. Some screenplays are better at visuals then in the book although if finely crafted the book can make an atmosphere which simply cannot be experienced on-screen. So with these mixed emotions I picked up the book.

While reading the book, I was pleasantly surprised to see Captain Janeway‘s personality etched more deeply and sorta rounded than I have seen the character playing Captain Janeway in the Voyager series. I really liked the book and found Jeri Taylor to use a woman’s sense and intuition and working on surroundings and people’s descriptions, memories to great effect.

For all the failings of the Original Series, one could never blame them for lack of personality. Whether it was Captain James T. Kirk, Spock or Doctor McCoy, they all bought a certain charm to the series. The later series almost all the characters seemed to have somewhat of a one-dimensional character. In this one instance at least, the book far outweighs the Series I have seen. She seems to be a good author.

/me out.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Star Trek Voyager:Mosiac (readingexperiences.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by New Art – Captain Kirk and Spock, Star Trek Portraits « Laura Barbosa's Heart of Art Blog — April 14, 2011 @ 3:46 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

